Category Archives: News

Beerfest Sept. 29, 2017

The Courtenay Rotary Club is presenting their Beer and Cider Fest on Friday, September 29th. It is one of their major fundraisers. We would encourage our CVPA members to support this event. If given the opportunity while attending Beerfest, please express our appreciation to Courtenay Rotary Club members for their consideration of the Highland Park Pickleball Court project.

AGM Meeting

At the Sept 7, 2017 AGM meeting the following people were elected by acclamation to the CVPA Board of Directors:

Rick Folk
Jenny Kennedy
Jaye Mathieu
Carol Bissell
Judy Osborne
Colleen Crowder
Rod Hamilton
Del Christensen

National Pickleball Day a Huge Success!

On Sunday, August 13th, Comox Valley Pickleball Assoc. celebrated National Pickleball Day with a goal to get 150 people out in celebration of Canada’s birthday and participACTION 150. We succeeded in attracting close to 150 players of all ages and levels of play, including first time players ranging from children with their parents to seniors.

The 6 tennis courts at Lewis Park in Courtenay were taped to create 12 pickleball courts and the two practice courts were used for teaching. After their lessons the newbies joined in with the more experienced players and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. It was a FUN day as players of all levels came together for some games and a chance to socialize and see old friends and to meet new ones.

A thank you to Courtenay Recreation for the use of the tennis courts and a big thank you to Royal LePage Real Estate for so generously providing and setting up a tent for our use. Also, thank you to all who joined in so enthusiastically to make this a great event.

CVPA Annual General Meeting, Thurs Sept 7, 2017

CVPA AGM Thursday Sept 7, 2017 6:30 pm
Upstairs at the Comox Community Centre

All members are welcome to attend. We urge you to show up and share your ideas or suggestions or just listen and be updated on our club’s progress.

Members willing to serve as Directors are requested to forward their names no later than August 31st, 2017 to: Wayne Niemi, Elections Officer.